Best Book Publishers UK | Austin Macauley Publishers

By: Laura Aakjær

Dancing Seas

Pages: 192 Ratings:
Book Format: Choose an option

*Available directly from our distributors, click the Available On tab below

This is a collection of saviours
Without whom I would not have survived
It tells tales  
About heartbreak so severe one wasn’t sure one would survive it
And of losing, and therefore feeling lost
Losing, and therefore feeling empowered
It’s about wanting to get better, but not sure if one ever can.
This collection will prove that it is possible
But that it is okay to feel like it isn’t

I know because
When the flood came
The words taught me how to float
When the waves tossed me around
I already knew how to fly

Dancing Seas, by the Danish writer Laura Aakjær, is composed of more than a hundred autobiographical poems divided into the themes of ‘Falling’, ‘Floating’ and ‘Flying’.
Laura’s poems, most of them a few lines long, use their position on the page to enhance the impact of her precisely chosen words. Despite their brevity, they manage to encompass a wide variety of moods: from profound grief to swooning ecstasy; from a delicate wistfulness to a raging defiance.

Laura Aakjær is a Danish writer who studies during the day and writes out her inner self during the night. Ever since she grew up, books have been her everything. It’s an understatement to say that she fell in love with words, the English language in particular. Nevertheless, she has had a passionate and addictive relationship with them ever since. This has now evolved to include painting, feminism and everything colourful.

Reading and writing became her saviour in what has been a not always easy life. However, she is now living her best life, writing about her experiences.

Customer Reviews
0 reviews
0 reviews
Write a Review
Your post will be reviewed and published soon. Multiple reviews on one book from the same IP address will be deleted.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience and for marketing purposes.
By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies