Best Book Publishers UK | Austin Macauley Publishers
The Seed of Freedom-bookcover

By: Eamonn Robinson

The Seed of Freedom

Pages: 174 Ratings:
Book Format: Choose an option

*Available directly from our distributors, click the Available On tab below

In the heart of Dublin during the tumultuous Easter Rising of 1916, two young boys, Sam and Christy, grow up under the care of their widowed mother and aunt. As they navigate their way through troubled times, the brothers find themselves drawn to the cause of Irish freedom, joining the Volunteers in their fight for independence. Immersed in the savage Irish War of Independence, Christy serves in the Dublin Brigade while Sam becomes a member of the ASU and later joins the legendary ‘Squad’ under Michael Collins. Against the backdrop of 1920s Dublin, Sam finds love when he meets Kate, only to be captured and locked away in Kilmainham as his first child is born, released only when the Truce is signed. The brothers, united in their commitment, follow Michael Collins into the National Army, only to face the tragedy of the Irish Civil War, a horror that still haunts Irish society to this day. Upon their discharge from the Army in 1924, Sam, now a family man, and Christy seize the opportunity to reclaim their lost youth on the football fields of Dublin, Ireland, and Europe, where they excel as part of the famous Bohemian FC team of 1927/28, ultimately reaching the pinnacle of international football for the Irish Free State.

The author is the youngest child of Sam and Kate Robinson. He was born in 1944 and left school at 14 years old. He worked in England as a messenger boy in a theatrical agent’s office in 1959. Then he returned to Dublin in 1960 and started an apprenticeship as a plasterer. From there, he emigrated to Canada as a plasterer in 1966 lived and worked in Toronto in construction. He married Florence in Canada in 1967. He is now retired and has been living back in Dublin with Florence since 2006.

Customer Reviews
0 reviews
0 reviews
Write a Review
Your post will be reviewed and published soon. Multiple reviews on one book from the same IP address will be deleted.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your user experience and for marketing purposes.
By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies